The Diamond Award

The Temple University Hospital Auxiliary established The Diamond Award in 1991 to honor a Friend of Temple University Hospital each year at the Gala. With this award, the Auxiliary recognizes individuals and organizations for their social responsibility to both the human family at large and the Temple family in particular.

“You can search the world over for riches, or you can look and work for ‘Acres of Diamonds’ in your own backyard.”

 – Dr. Russell H. Conwell


2009 Diamond Award Honoree:

The Solid Organ Transplant Programs of Temple University Hospital






Past Recipients

Please click the name below if you would like more information or to see photos.

2008 Dr. Kenneth F. Mangan


2007 “Cradle to Grave” Program


2006 Dawn M. Staley


2005 Stephanie Stahl

2004 Paul H. Boehringer

2003 Temple University Hospital Medical Staff

2002 Marvin C. Wachman, Ph.D.

2001 David C. Melnicoff

2000 James Shacklett, II &  Michael Clancy, MD

1999 Leon S. Malmud, MD,  James Stanley White,  Isadore A. Shrager

1998 Howard Gittis  

1997 Fitz Eugene Dixon, Jr.

1996 Richard J. Fox

1995 SmithKline Beecham

1994 Daniel H. Polett

1993 John C. Haas

1992 Esther Boyer Griswold

1991 Milton L. Rock, Ph.D